DSC_0116

“Happiness resides not in possessions, and not in gold, happiness dwells in the soul.”

– Democritus

I met this old man in the park. He has a family of six children, all grown up and settled. He barely had any money in his pocket but does not like to take money from his children for his small needs. He works off and on for his needs and seemed happy and content with his life. I found this man more happy than many well to do people I have seen in life.

May be happiness is not all about what possessions you have in life ….

What are your thoughts on happiness in life? I would love to hear from you.

Happiness dwells in the soul

8 thoughts on “Happiness dwells in the soul

  1. When it comes to true happiness and the possession of “things”, less is more; but the things which bring happiness that one can never have “too much” of are self-respect, gratitude, love, good health, time in nature and time with God.

  2. I have found that people who are intent upon the relationships with those around them and the service of others interests have been the most joyful and fulfilled people I have met. When I focus narrowly on myself all the world seems to get sucked into that tiny hole, but when I look out to others the boundaries move away beyond my sight and breathing comes so easy and free.

Leave a Reply

